TV Live Menu
Loading data...

Congress To Observe Local Elections In Georgia

Natia Taktakishvili
29.09.21 16:30
At the invitation of the authorities of Georgia, the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will deploy a mission to observe the local elections on 2 October in 64 municipalities. The mission will be headed by David Eray (Switzerland, EPP/CCE, R), and involves 18 Congress observers from 15 countries. It is part of a joint observation together with the OSCE/ODIHR and the European Parliament.

The deployment on the ground on Election Day will be preceded by preparatory meetings in Tbilisi on 30 September and 1 October including representatives of the diplomatic corps, domestic and international NGOs and the media. The Congress delegation will also meet the Chairperson of the Central Election Commission, Mr Giorgi Kalandarishvili, and the Deputy Minister of Justice and Head of Inter-Agency Task Force for Free and Fair Elections, Mr Tornike Cheishvili.

Together with the delegation from the EU Parliament a briefing with the OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission Core Team and with long-term observers will be organised. The preparatory programme will be rounded off by meetings with candidates running in the local elections and party representatives, as well as members of the Georgian delegation to the Congress.

On polling day, nine Congress teams will be deployed to different cities, towns and adjacent rural areas across the country.

The mission will be concluded by a joint press conference with OSCE/ODIHR and the European Parliament on Sunday, 3 October 2021, at 15:00, at the Sheraton Grand Tbilisi Metechi Palace.

Congress delegation:

Mr David Eray - Head of Delegation (Switzerland, EPP/CCE, R)
Ms Randi Mondorf - Deputy Head of Delegation (Denmark, ILDG, R)
Ms Lale Bektas (Turkey, SOC/G/PD, R)
Ms Carla Dejonghe (Belgium, ILDG, R)
Ms Jana Fischerova (Czech Republic, ECR, L)
Ms Samira Huseynova (Azerbaijan, SOC/G/PD, L)
Mr György Illes (Hungary, ILDG, L)
Mr Matija Kovac (Serbia, EPP/CCE, R)
Mr Giuseppe Magni (Italy, ECR, L)
Mr Vladimir Prebilic (Slovenia, SOC/G/PD, L)
Mr Kristoffer Tamsons (Sweden, EPP/CCE, R)
Mr Erion Veliaj (Albania, SOC/G/PD, L)
Mr Emin Yeritsyan (Armenia, EPP/CCE, L)

გამოიწერეთ ჩვენი სიახლეები

მიიღე დღის მთავარი სიახლეები