02.Aug .2021 17:30

The CEC Has A New Chairman

The CEC Has A New Chairman

The Parliament of Georgia has elected the Chairman of the CEC and two professional members. The Parliament approved Giorgi Kalandarishvili as the Chairman of the CEC with 83 votes against 3. The Parliament approved the candidacies of Gia Tsatsashvili (81 supporters) and Maia Zaridze (81 supporters) as professional members of the CEC.

Voting this time took place by a majority of the full membership, which meant that candidates needed at least 76 votes to be elected to vacant positions at the CEC. The CEC chairperson and members elected by the majority of the full membership will hold the position for a period of 6 months.

Due to changes in the electoral legislation, voting was held twice with a 2/3 quorum and once with a 3/5 quorum, however, due to disagreements between the ruling team and the opposition on common candidates, the election didn't take place with a high quorum.